The Athenaeum of Ohio – Mount St. Mary’s Seminary


Established 1829

Mission The Athenaeum of Ohio is the premier center of Catholic formation, sponsored by the Archdiocese of Cincinnati, for future priests, deacons, lay ministers, and all who want to follow faithfully Christ and serve His mission by fulfilling their vocation in the Church.


Serving Our Community The Athenaeum prepares seminarians, deacons, and lay ministers to lead the Church and change the world. Mount St. Mary’s Seminary educates men to serve as priests. While studying for the priesthood, seminarians are involved in apostolic works such as parish ministry, high school education programs, prison ministry, hospital ministry, soup kitchens, and pregnancy support centers. The Lay Pastoral Ministry Program and Special Studies Program offer education and formation for lay adults, including graduate, non-degreed, and continuing education offerings in theology, scripture, Catholic studies, and pastoral ministry. Lay students come from all walks of life to prepare to serve within families, schools, parishes, nonprofit agencies, and workplaces more effectively. The Deacon Formation Program educates men to serve in parish ministry and the care of the poor.


Very Rev. Benedict O’Cinnsealaigh, President/Rector
Rev. Anthony Brausch, Vice-Rector
Mr. Dennis Eagan, Vice President for Finance and Administration
Rev. David Endres, Academic Dean
Dr. Susan McGurgan, Director Lay Pastoral Ministry Program
Mr. Kyle Isaack, Director of Advancement

The Athenaeum Board of Trustees

Archbishop Dennis M. Schnurr, Chairman
Very Rev. Benedict D. O’Cinnsealaigh, President
Rev. Gerald E. Bensman
Bishop Joseph R. Binzer
Mr. Michael J. Conaton
Mr. Robert A. Conway Sr.
Mrs. Mary Lois Conway Drath
Mr. Frank A. Gilardi Jr.
Mr. Gary J. Gruber
Mr. Terence L. Horan
Mr. Gregory Ionna
Mr. Thomas A. Joseph
Mr. Donald L. Keller Jr.
Mr. Richard B. Kelly
Mrs. Jane D. Klare
Mr. Gary R. Massa
Bishop George V. Murry, SJ
Rev. Msgr. William B. Neuhaus, VF
Mr. L. S. Trey Rouse III
Deacon Leon H. Schellman
Rev. Msgr. Charles E. Singler
Mr. John P. Tafaro
Bishop Daniel E. Thomas
Mr. Thomas G. Wimberg
Mrs. Peggy E. Zink

Other Ways to Help

Contributions welcome for:

  • Bishop Fenwick Society
  • St. Gregory Legacy Society
  • Educational Scholarships
  • Athenaeum Chorale and Music Program
  • Organ Fund for the Chapel
    of St. Gregory the Great
  • Grounds Beautification
  • Annual Giving

The Athenaeum of Ohio – Mount St. Mary’s Seminary

6616 Beechmont Ave.
Cincinnati, OH 45230
(513) 233-6161



Facebook Comments